PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here...try this! Reminds me of McGriddles :o)

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

lilgizmo
Sat, Feb-07-04, 13:19
Hilo!

I am a former low carber. Well, I am back to this WOL. I was just diagnosed with diabetes, and have been restricting my carbs. I know some ppl really restrict carbs. I have been trying to keep mine as low as possible, and trying to go as low fat as I can. I have lost 9 pounds since my diagnosis on Jan 27, 2004. (12 days ago) I found some bread that may not be as low carb as some would like, but it is good! The effective carb count is 6 grams/slice. It has 35 cal. in a slice and very little fat. It is called "Helathy Life" and I found it at super Wal-Mart. It comes in different kinds, but I am a die-hard white bread craver ;oP Anyhoo...here is what I had for breakfast...If you want to lower your carb count, use your fave low carb bread.

Prepare your bacon or sausage, as you prefer.
Then...

For the "Griddle cake" part:
2 slices low carb bread
1/4 c egg beaters (I use b/c I am trying lowfat)
1/2 t. splenda (adjust to your taste)
a drop of low fat milk or half n half
few drops of maple flavoring

Make your french toast (griddle cake) as you normally would. I use no stick spray.

When finished, cook your egg beaters (or egg, if you wish) in an omelette fashion, folding it to "fit" on top of your griddle cake.
Lay a slice of your fave cheese on top, then the bacon or sausage. Then I put a few drops of SpringTree brand SF low cal syrup. (I know this sounds gross to some, but it is very tasty!) Then put on your top "cake" It is yum chum a lum good!

Counts:
LC bread:
70 cal.
12 g carb
----------