PDA

View Full Version : eating disorders

Welcome to the Active Low-Carber Forums

Support for Atkins diet, Protein Power, Neanderthin (Paleo Diet), CAD/CALP, Dr. Bernstein Diabetes Solution and any other healthy low-carb diet or plan, all are welcome in our lowcarb community. Forget starvation and fad diets -- join the healthy eating crowd! You may register by clicking here, it's free!

rebsee
Thu, May-22-03, 05:43
Does anyone here ever wonder if they've got an eating disorder? I feel like I'm getting one. I obsess over food and my weight more and more each day. I eat in secret. I want cookies and mashed potatos all the time. I hate being like this :( I'd rather not have to eat at all than to feel like this. I'm in floods of tears as I write this. I'm so unhappy.

saramun
Thu, May-22-03, 09:11
Hi Rebsee,

I'm not a doctor, but what you are describing sounds to me like compulsive eating. I don't know if compulsive eating is officially considered an eating disorder, but there are numerous self-help books on the subject.

I am a compulsive eater, and I go to a support group for compulsive eaters. We consider it an eating disorder!

Unfortunately, compulsive eating is usually not something that will go away by dieting. It is a separate condition, and must be treated separately. Geneen Roth's book, "Breaking Free of Compulsive Eating," really changed my life.

I detail my struggles with compulsive eating in my journal, and you are always welcome to drop in or ask questions. I don't have any of my weird compulsive eating stories from the past in there yet (I didn't want to scare anyone), but I don't mind sharing them if anyone is curious.

Karen
Fri, May-23-03, 00:13